Handwriting

I don’t know about you, but I still prefer to write some things by hand. Thank you notes, for example. Poems, as well.

But when I sit down to write a story, I like to sit at my computer.

In thinking about that writing process, I came across a CNN iReport article about handwriting:

http://www.cnn.com/2011/IREPORT/08/12/handwriting.analysis.irpt/index.html.

I’ve heard that even adult handwriting isn’t as neat anymore, thanks to keyboard and word processors. What do you guys think? How important is our handwriting (and its neatness) these days?

I’d like to say that it’s still pretty important. I see it is one of the physical representations of ourselves, and of our stories. Typing a poem or a story is one thing; handwriting is another. Some of the questions that spring into my mind, then, are how are they different, and why are these differences important? What roles do those differences play in telling our stories?

2 thoughts on “Handwriting

  1. Ok, stumbled upon your blog via your Craigslist advertisement. I am the publicist for our blog, and I must say I really like what you are doing here. It is quite moving!

    A Story a Day is a great idea! I really hope you didn’t get flagged on CL (like we always do). We are a collective blog as well. I wouldn’t mind providing a story for you myself. My name is Guy and you can reach me at gstridsigne@gmail.com

    I really appreciate what you are doing here.

    I love the minimalist theme you are using, but it does make it difficult to navigate. Just to forewarn you. But I think it adds to the beauty of what you are doing here. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

