National Author’s Day

Today is National Author’s Day. I think this calls for a celebration here at A Story Every Day, since this IS a site that celebrates us all as authors and writers. Let’s share our favorite authors and give them some attention and recognition!

Who is your favorite author/writer and why?

Personally, I love Joan Didion because she writes in a straightforward manner yet there’s so much packed in that you may not even realize at first read. The “straightforwardness” is there, and true, but can also be deceptive.

I also adore John Irving – I just started reading his works, and so far I’ve read “A Widow for One Year” and now I’m reading “The World According to Garp.” His characters (and writing) appeal to me because they are humorous in a completely non-comical way. There is something so honest, so bare about them (I think this is really because of the way in which he writes) that makes me fall in love with them.

“I’m not telling you to make the world better, because I don’t think that progress is necessarily part of the package. I’m just telling you to live in it. Not just to endure it, not just to suffer it, not just to pass through it, but to live in it. To look at it. To try to get the picture. To live recklessly. To take chances. To make your own work and take pride in it. To seize the moment. And if you ask me why you should bother to do that, I could tell you that the grave’s a fine and private place, but none I think do there embrace. Nor do they sing there, or write, or argue, or see the tidal bore on the Amazon, or touch their children. And that’s what there is to do and get it while you can and good luck at it.”
Joan Didion
4 thoughts on “National Author’s Day

  1. At first, I was thinking to myself that I don’t think I could ever pick a favorite author, but then as I started thinking about who tends to frequent my bookshelves the most, I realized that I can easily give Terry Pratchett that title, especially with his Discworld series! Discworld not only takes fantasy novels and turns them not only on their ear, but also on their buttocks, but he’s also sharp as a knife and he seamlessly infuses his books with political and social satire that is smart, witty, and (most importantly) hilarious. I simply adore everything and anything he’s involved in!

    I feel the need to also recognize some of my favorite Chinese authors, like Ha Jin, Da Chen, and Dai Sijie, who create such beautiful pieces of prose and fiction. They truly manage to elevate writing to a stunning art and they’ve inspired me in so many wonderful ways.

    I’m sure I could pick many, many more, but those are the ones that stand out the most when I consider such a loaded question. 🙂

  2. I love John Irving. Read all his books. A Prayer for Owen Meany is my all-time favorite.

    As a university English professor, I’ve read most of the books in the academic canon. Faulkner and Fitzgerald, Toni Morrison and Margaret Atwood are standouts for me.

    My favorite novelist, however, is Nora Roberts. For me, she is the master story teller. Even though she could sell anything based on her name and reputations, she always delivers a wonderful story. As a fiction writer, I have learned more from reading her books and seeing her techniques than I have in any creative writing class I’ve taken or creative writing book I’ve read.

  3. My favorite author is definitely Edgar Allan Poe; his dark romanticism seems to hold fast to my heart. Not only that, but the elegance of his word choice and syntax mesmerizes me every time. (:

Leave a Reply

