Matches

The scent of sulfur is consuming me

As I open my mouth and try to breathe

Matches lie all over the floor

As I’m watching blue flames engulf the door.

 

A trail of red gasoline lines all of our things

We are finally victorious in this smoke

Silhouettes dancing along the walls

Soon to become ash

Bursts of orange highlight our past.

 

I wrap myself in blankets to remember the heat

As beams fall and everyone stares from the street

I close my eyes and can feel your heartbeat.

 

Shadows walk the ceilings

Take it slow, what are we afraid of feeling?

Yellow outlines the paint that’s peeling

Skin from bone

Take my hand darling, let’s go home.

 

-Rachel Allen

3 thoughts on “Matches

Leave a Reply

